Learn how to secure your Network

1 minute read

If you want to become Cloud Security Architect you must have basics of Networking. This article will discuss all fundamental concepts of networking. Learn about 6 security domains, understand the security is multi-pronged approach.

Security+ Domains

  • Network Security
  • Compliance and Operational Security
  • Threats and Vulnerabilities
  • Application and Data and Host Security
  • Access Control and Identity Management
  • Cryptography

Network Security

  • Firewall, routers, switches
  • Protocol and Protocol Analyzer
  • ACLs, VLAN Management

Compliance and Operational Security

  • Control Types
  • Risk Calculation
  • SLAs, Change and Incident Management

Threats and Vulnerabilities

  • Malware and Viruses
  • Personally Identifiable Information (PII)
  • Attack Types - DDoS, Social Engineering

Application and Data and Host Security

  • Application Controls such as Secure Coding concepts, Cross Site Scripting
  • Device Security and Bring your own device (BYOD) concerns
  • Acceptable Use Policies

Access Control and Identity Management

  • RADIUS, TACACS+ Kerberos, LDAP
  • Permissions, Authentication and Authorization
  • Tokens, Protocols and Methods


  • Symmetric vs. Asymmetric
  • LAN, WAN, Wireless considerations
  • Steganography and other methods to hide/steal data



Thanks for reading my article till end. I hope you learned something special today. If you enjoyed this article then please share to your friends and if you have suggestions or thoughts to share with me then please write in the comment box.

💖 Say 👋 to me!
Rupesh Tiwari
Founder of Fullstack Master
Email: rupesh.tiwari.info@gmail.com
Website: RupeshTiwari.com